Pawkret wrote:The defender fighting back can target the Warlord with all his attacks, or split his choice. But again the Hearth Guard can be used to take the wounds./quote]
Page 38 Side by Side box: "No More than half its attack dice (the defending warlord unit) may be directed against the Warlord (attacking Warlord)". So, the defending Warlord cannot allocate all of his attack dice to the attacking Warlord.
don't forget there is a caveat to this rule, if it's a warlord defending then he can direct all his attacks against the attacking warlord not just 50% (in side by side box page 38)
otherwise if it’s a normal unit defending then Pawkret is correct