Ragnar, I see there is already some debate about this subject. Could you please clarify the INTENTION of the rulewriters about the ability of mounted figures in a second rank being able to fight? The detailed question is outlined below.
Congratulations on a superb set of rules that really do cover everything on one side of foolscap paper (OK 2 sides if you include the battleboard). The quick reference sheet really is the only thing you need to refer to, and then only rarely.
Being a good Viking I understand the best way to fight and I organise my Warriors, (each figure mounted on 20mm square bases), into blocks of 12 men, 4 wide and 3 deep, all bases touching. This formation ensures that, in the event of me being attacked, most of my Warriors will have a chance to fight in melee because figures in the rear ranks are more likely to be within VS range of an engaged enemy figure. Furthermore, this formation does not disadvantage me when my Warriors charge forward and attack the enemy.
Most, if not all, of my opponents’ base their infantry figures on bases this size. However, the cowardly Welsh and Normans insist on riding ponies and warhorses, (nags). These mounted Warriors and Hearthguard are mostly based on bases 25mm x 50mm.
The rules say that basing is not important and that no player should suffer a disadvantage from basing.
My question is this. Although advantages are given to mounted Norman and Welsh troops via the battleboards, was it the intention that mounted figures in a second rank could fight in a melee. For example; If 8 mounted Norman or Welsh warriors, (4 figures wide by 2 deep and all in base to base contact), moved into, (frontal), contact with a unit of my Vikings formed as described earlier; how many mounted figures could fight in the melee?
All of my Viking Warriors would fight because they are all in direct contact with an enemy figure, or within VS distance from and engaged enemy figure, i.e. 12 attack dice. Ignoring the battleboard, how many attack dice would the Normans get? Even if all the mounted figures are packed as closely as possible together, the rear rank can never be within VS range of an engaged enemy because the usual depth of a mounted base is itself VS distance, (50mm). If this is the intention, the Normans only get 4 attack dice. However, if the intention was for a second rank of mounted figures to be able to fight, (i.e. if the length of a mounted base was, say, 45mm), then the Normans would be allowed 8 attack dice, a big difference.
I am not afraid of mounted Normans or Welshmen so I say two ranks can fight but what do you say?